Dr. Elaine Hampton Wins the Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Elaine Hampton and Kathryn Venzor

Dr. Hampton accepts her award from EEANM President Kathryn Venzor.

Elaine M. Hampton, Ph.D., was recognized for her long-term, sustained support and service to the field of environmental education with the 2014 Outstanding Service to Environmental Education Award. She was a part of EEANM from the beginning, serving as board president in the late nineties. She recently returned to serve as a board member and as secretary. Continue Reading →

2014 Board Election Results

We welcome one new and two returning board members from last month’s elections:

Kathryn Venzor

Kathryn VenzorKathryn Venzor returns to our board and will continue to serve as our President. She is the Education Curator and oversees educational programs at the ABQ BioPark’s Zoo, Aquarium, Botanic Garden and Tingley Beach. The programs include the BioVan and Zoo to You free school and community outreach programs, volunteer and teacher trainings on conservation and the environmental sciences, and curriculum develop on the plants and animals exhibited at the BioPark. Continue Reading →

Dr. Buxbaum’s EE Work Honored with 2014 Becker Award

Chuck with students

Chuck’s enthusiasm for teaching is evident in the classroom, the gym and beyond!

EEANM is thrilled to announce that Dr. Chuck Buxbaum, Environmental Science Teacher and Sustainability Director at Sandia Prep, has been selected to receive EEANM’s 2014 Dr. Richard W. Becker Award of Excellence in Environmental Education! Continue Reading →